proMODERN vocal sextet


Marta Czarkowska soprano
Ewa Puchalska mezzo-soprano
Ewelina Rzezińska mezzo-soprano
Aleksander Rewiński tenor
Krzysztof Chalimoniuk baritone
Piotr Pieron bass

Their seven years in existence, proMODERN was established in 2012, has been an uninterrupted run of success. During this time the proMODERN vocal sextet released four albums of their own, recorded music for two others, presented the world premieres of 28 compositions (including miniatures, larger a cappella forms, vocal-instrumental pieces and works for voices with orchestra as well as 9 different song cycles), performed in concert at festivals and at the invitation of leading cultural centres, including most of Poland’s philharmonics.

proMODERN won four Polish music industry Fryderyk awards. Two statuettes came in the “Choral, Oratorio and Opera Music Album of the Year” category and for “Best Recording of Polish Music” for their debut album Where Are You? Pieces from Warsaw in 2015.  Their second album, proMODERN Shakespired, was released in December 2017, and Philip Lawson’s piece, which the legendary artist had composed as a commission specially for the group, already had 20,000 streams on Spotify in just two weeks! This album was also won two Fryderyk awards, in the “Contemporary Music Album of the Year” and “Best Recording of Polish Music” categories.

proMODERN was nominated to he “Coryphaeus of Polish Music” Award 2018 in the category of “Discovery of the Year” for their performance of Stimmung by Karlheinz Stockausen during the KODY Festival in Lublin.

The group was founded by leading vocal soloists who shared a passion and skill for interpreting the most demanding works by present-day composers. proMODERN has become a synonym for the best vocal performances of contemporary music. The group are greatly appreciated in the music community and garner excellent reviews.