Tuesday / 19:00
Tuesday / 19:00


Auditorium, Polish History Museum, ul. Gwardii 1
Orchestral concertsoff-premisesFestival


Jakub Haufa violin
Sinfonia Varsovia
Daniel Mieczkowski conductor
Karol Furtak host

Programme [100']

Piotr Moss Incontri for orchestra (Polish premiere) [15′]
Erich Wolfgang Korngold Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35 [23′]
I. Moderato nobile
II. Romance: Andante
III. Finale: Allegro assai vivace




Sergei Rachmaninoff Symphonic Dances, Op. 45 [35′]
I. Non allegro – Lento – Tempo I
II. Andante con moto (Tempo di valse)
III. Lento assai – Allegro vivace

The story of Beethoven’s fascination with the person of Napoleon the democrat and disillusionment with Napoleon the emperor after his coronation in 1804 is well known. One hundred and two hundred years after Beethoven, the cult of individuals has had a negative impact on world history. Composers who managed to take refuge in exile from the pernicious influence of 20th-century totalitarianism included Austrian of Jewish origin Erich Wolfgang Korngold and Russian Sergei Rachmaninoff. Korngold’s famous Violin Concerto was being written in the United States when Nazi Germany was carrying out the Anschluss of the composer’s homeland. Rachmaninoff fled revolutionary Russia with his family in 1917, and his last orchestral work, Symphonic Dances, Op. 45, from 1940, is an outstanding summation of his creative and personal experiences. The evening will begin with the Polish premiere of Peter Moss’s Incontri, a work to mark the composer’s 75th birthday. Inspired by Jan Lechoń’s poem Spotkanie (The Meeting), the work was the first piece to begin the Polish composer’s emigrant “Parisian period” in 1983 and had its world premiere at the Théatre du Châtelet. The concert will mark the culmination of young conductor Daniel Mieczkowski’s year-long residency at Sinfonia Varsovia.