Thursday / 19:00
Thursday / 19:00

Remebering Together in Warsaw – Rani, Bracha, Jakowicz / Sinfonia Varsovia / Duczmal-Mróz

POLIN Museum auditorium
Orchestral concertsoff-premises

“Remembering Together” is the slogan that has accompanied the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising campaign from its very beginning. It’s a slogan, but it’s also a question about what really connects us 80 years after the outbreak of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising. To those who were imprisoned in the ghetto, who faced the German occupiers with arms in hand, and to those who hid in bunkers for months.


Marek Bracha piano
Jakub Jakowicz violin
Hania Rani piano
Sinfonia Varsovia
Anna Duczmal-Mróz conductor


Andrzej Panufnik Lullaby (1947)

Szymon Laks Poem for violin and orchestra (1954)

Władysław Szpilman Concertino for piano and orchestra (1940)

Hania Rani For Josima (2023) *

* world premiere

What is the memory of them and their sacrifice? What should come out of our memory? These questions have no clear answers, they pose an ethical challenge of sorts, and everyone must try and seek answers to them for themselves. “Remembering Together” concert is an invitation to a search for these answers.
The Sinfonia Varsovia Orchestra under the baton of Anna Duczmal-Mróz will premiere the piano concerto titled “For Josima” composed by Hania Rani. The piece was inspired by the music written and performed in the Warsaw ghetto by teenage pianist and composer Josima Feldschuh. Marek Bracha and Jakub Jakowicz will be the soloists during the concert. In addition to Hania Rani’s piece, we will hear Władysław Szpilman’s “Concertino for Piano and Orchestra” written in the ghetto, Szymon Laks’ “Poem” for violin and orchestra, and Andrzej Panufnik’s “Lullaby.”