Tuesday / 20:00
Tuesday / 20:00

Experimental Tuesday: Sinfonia Varsovia Camerata

Sinfonia Varsovia, 272 Grochowska Str. Warsaw
Chamber concertFestival


Sinfonia Varsovia Camerata

Magdalena Sokalska violin

Karolina Gutowska violin

Anna Loska viola

Krystyna Wiśniewska cello

Programme [60']

Żaneta Rydzewska where for two violins and viola

Ben Johnston String Quartet No. 4 Amazing Grace
Joanna Bailie Radio-Kaleidoscope for string quartet, tape and video

Sarah Nemtsov weggeschliffen for amplified string quartet

Contemporary composers are still keen on writing string quartets. The two violins, viola and cello are often accompanied by electronics, video, preparation, amplification and unconventional methods of producing sounds. This approach will be presented by four of Sinfonia Varsovia’s instrumentalists.

One of the pieces that occupy a special place in the history of 20th century music is the String Quartet No. 4 Amazing Grace by Ben Johnston. It is performed on instruments tuned using just intonation. The departure from equal temperament and return to just intervals embellishes the composition with vibrating microtones. The age-old division between consonance and dissonance is also challenged by Sarah Nemtsov, whose work entitled weggeschliffen includes subtle references to the String Quartet in C Major, K. 465 by Mozart. The quote is, however, distorted by special effects and reverb. A completely different approach to tradition is presented by Joanna Bailie’s Radio-Kaleidoscope. The electroacoustic piece accompanied by an abstract video resembles a collage, in which the instruments are combined with static and the sound of radio tuning. The program’s counterpoint is where by Żaneta Rydzewska, a performative piece for a trio that reflects on the source of stereotypes and prejudice based, among others, on appearance.

Wioleta Żochowska


  • Logo


  • Logo:


  • Logo
  • Logo
  • Logo
  • Logo