Sunday / 18:00
Sunday / 18:00

A different point of hearing. Festival finale

Sinfonia Varsovia, ul. Grochowska 272
Orchestral concertsFestival


Sinfonia Varsovia
Joolz Gale conductor
Janusz Marynowski host

Programme [180']

Aaron Copland
Fanfare for the Common Man [3′]
Luciano Berio Variations on a Theme by Luigi Boccherini (Quattro versioni originali della „Ritirata notturna di Madrid” di Luigi Boccherini) [7′]
Sergei Prokofiev Symphony No. 1, Op. 25 Classical [15′]
I. Allegro
II. Larghetto
III. Gavotta: Non troppo allegro
IV. Finale: Molto vivace




Samuel Barber Adagio for strings [9′]
Alberto Ginastera Finale furioso (mov. IV) from the Concerto for Strings, Op. 33 [4′]
Benjamin Britten Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra: Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Henry Purcell, Op. 34 [18′]
Theme A: Allegro maestoso e largamente (tutti)
Theme B (woodwinds)
Theme C (brass)
Theme D (strings)
Theme E (percussion)
Theme F (tutti)
Variation A: Presto (flutes and piccolo)
Variation B: Lento (oboes)
Variation C: Moderato (clarinets)
Variation D: Allegro alla marcia (bassoons)
Variation E: Brillante – Alla polacca (violins)
Variation F: Meno mosso (violas)
Variation G: [L’istesso tempo] (cellos)
Variation H: Comminciando lento ma poco a poco accelerando al Allegro (double basses)
Variation I: Maestoso (harp)
Variation J: L’istesso tempo (horns)
Variation K: Vivace (trumpets)
Variation L: Allegro pomposo (trombones and tuba)
Variation M: Moderato (percussion)
Fugue: Allegro molto




Béla Bartók Transylvanian Dances (Erdélyi táncok) BB.102b Sz.96 (arr. for orchestra of Sonatina for piano BB.69 Sz.55) [5′]
I. Alegretto – Allegro – Tempo I
II. Moderato
III. Allegro vivace
Paul Hindemith Symphonic Metamorphoses on Themes by Carl Maria von Weber [20′]
I. Allegro
II. Turandot. Scherzo: Moderato – Lebhaft
III Andantino
IV. Marsch

The final concert of the festival is a kind of aural experiment and also a complement to the opening one. This time the audience will not take part in the performance, but during the concert they will be able to… sit among the orchestra, chair to chair with the Sinfonia Varsovia’s musicians. The unusual formula of the concert – three shorter parts and two longer intermissions – will allow participants to change their seat and gain new listening perspective. The repertoire has been selected to show the audience the different groups of instruments and allow to feel the energy and tension in the music from the inside in the best possible way. The entire event will be artistically overseen by British conductor Joolz Gale, experienced in such innovative projects, and hosted by Janusz Marynowski, director of Sinfonia Varsovia.