Tuesday / 19:00
Tuesday / 19:00

Festival finale – Pick your favorites

Sinfonia Varsovia, ul. Grochowska 272, Warsaw
Orchestral concertsFestival

Aleksandra Świgut, associated in recent years with historical performance, returns to the great concert repertoire. Béla Bartók’s Piano Concerto No. 3 is one of those late works that is the sum of the composer’s life experiences and fascinations. The first and third movements are clearly inspired by his beloved Hungarian folklore, the second Adagio religioso, based on a Baroque fugato, alludes to the third movement of Beethoven’s late quartet, Op. 132, in which the composer thanks for his recovery. In Bartók’s case, this hope was not fulfilled – he died before completing the work. Bartók’s piano concerto and performers are the only sure thing about this concert. We entrust our audiences with the choice of its other parts – the overture and the symphony.


Aleksandra Świgut piano
Sinfonia Varsovia
Aleksandar Marković conductor
Agata Kwiecińska host

Programme [105']

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Don Giovanni Overture KV 527 [7’]
Béla Bartók Piano Concerto No. 3, BB. 127 [23’]
I. Allegretto
II. Adagio religioso – Poco più mosso – Tempo I
III. Allegro vivace




Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op. 90 Italian [27’]
I. Allegro vivace
II. Andante con moto
III. Con moto moderato
IV. Saltarello. Presto